My Daily Routine (Fall 2019)

Hello, and welcome back to Capturing College! I hope you are enjoying reading my weekly posts. I am not sure what kind of content you all prefer, so feel free to comment and let me know!

When debating on what to post this week, I ultimately decided on sharing my daily routine with you. While in college, my daily routine isn’t always consistent, but I thought it would be fun to share with you what my average day is like.

My schedule does change every other day, so I figured I would share with you what my typical Monday is like this quarter.

My day starts at 7 a.m. when I wake up to shower. I usually shower fairly quickly and then head back to my room to get dressed. When deciding on my outfit, I usually check the weather so that I am prepared for the day. Recently, it has been pretty cold, so most mornings I am ending up wearing jeans and a sweatshirt under my black North Face rain jacket.

After getting dressed, I wash my face and put on my makeup. Since I am pretty tired and it is very early in the morning, I tend to wear very minimal makeup. After my makeup is done, I usually fix my hair while popping a K-Cup into my Keurig so I can brew some coffee while I finish getting ready. Some days I curl my hair if I have the time, but typically it is straight. However, since it is usually a little frizzy from sleeping, I sometimes run a straightener through it in oder to sleek it over again in the morning.

After my hair is done, I brush my teeth while pouring some caramel creamer into my coffee. I then put on my shoes and jacket, pack up my backpack, and spray on some perfume before slipping on my jacket. After that, I pop in my Airpods before putting on my backpack and heading out the door, coffee in hand.

I head to my first class, Contemporary Biology, and usually am greeted by my friend Harrison, who happens to be the teacher’s assistant for that class. I sit in class and take notes while drinking my coffee. At 8:50 a.m., that class ends and I then tread across campus to my second period class, Writing for Advertising.

After sitting in that class and discussing methods of advertising, I head on my longest journey to my last morning class, Introduction to Music, where we learn all about the history and methods of music composition and how to identify different instruments.

After that, I am typically free until my 1 p.m. class, and I usually use that time to eat lunch. However, on Monday’s, I have an officer meeting from 12:30-1 p.m. for the CommLang Club, of which I am the vice president.

Once that meeting has ended, I head straight to my last class of the day, Media Writing, which ends at 1:50 p.m., but what happens next varies by the day. On Wednesday’s, I have Contemporary Biology Lab from 2-5 p.m., and luckily it is taught by Harrison, so I feel comfortable asking questions. He is actually a very helpful TA and does a great job. On Monday’s, Tuesday’s, and Thursday’s I usually work from 2-5 p.m. and that really works up my appetite for dinner.

I head out to eat with Christopher usually right once I am off of work. We try to go to the cafeteria as much as we can, but honestly we do end up going out way more than we should.

If we go out to eat, we usually end up getting fast food, and once we get back to campus, we get straight to work on our homework and studies for the week.

I tend to finish my homework anywhere between 8-10 p.m. depending on how much there is to do that night and how soon I need to complete it. After that, I head back to the dorm to relax.

Usually, I change into sweats and prepare for bed, and then start to watch “Friends.” Right around then, one of my friends, typically Lexi or Allison, knock on my door, and we end up hanging out. We usually catch up and make plans for the following day, or talk about what is going on in our love lives.

Sometimes, if it is a particulary slow week, we even watch a TV show together. Lexi and I have recently been watching the Netflix original show “Raising Dion.” It is amazing and really well done, I highly reccommend it. Other nights, we binge watch One Direction videos and sing along, or we spend the late evening eating a bunch of food at Sheri’s.

Most nights, however, we just talk for hours and leave the door open until we end up with our whole squad gathered at the end of the hall in either my room or Mariah and Allison’s room, which is across the hall. Eventually, we end up deciding to turn in for the night.

To prepare for bed, I usually make sure to remove my makeup before washing my face and brushing my teeth before putting my retainers in. I put an essential oil in my room diffuser and turn it on before turning out the lights and crawling into bed. My favorite night time scent for my diffuser is lavender, but recently I have been running thieves or eucalyptus due to the fact that myself and my roommate have been sick for a while now.

That is the end of my typical day so far this quarter. While it does tend to vary due to after school activities, amounts of homework, changing schedules, and other variables, this is the basic outline of a day in my life.

I hope you enjoyed reading this post! If you would like to see more post like this, perhaps a day in the life post with images, or a quarterly updated version of this, let me know by commenting below, Please be sure to follow Capturing College and check out more of the posts I have. Have a great rest of your week!

Leave a comment